The full name of the abbey is the Abbey of Our Lady of the Holy Heart of Westmalle. The community was founded in 1794 by monks of the Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance and was granted abbey status in 1836. The monks of this order are commonly known as Trappists, after the Abbey of La Trappe in France. Since the end of the 18th century the monks of Westmalle Abbey have dedicated themselves to a communal life of prayer and work. 
The monks of Westmalle brew beer to fund the costs of their life in the abbey, where a modern brewery is at their disposal. Discover our three Trappist beers: Extra, Dubbel and Tripel. Quality beers brewed only with the purest ingredients.